Subgenus Anopheles

Reid & Knight (1961) revised Edwards’s (1932) infrasubgeneric classification of subgenus Anopheles. These authors divided the subgenus into two sections based on the shape of the pupal trumpet. The Laticorn Section was created for species with a wide funnel-shaped trumpet having the longest axis transverse to the stem, and the Angusticorn Section for species with a semi-tubular trumpet having the longest axis vertical more or less in line with the stem. These Sections were subsequently divided into Series, and the larger Series were divided into species Groups. The term ‘section’ was substituted for the ‘group’ category of Edwards to avoid confusion with ‘species group’ (which is equivalent to Group of current convention). The new classification retained the ‘Anopheles series’ of Edwards, but the original Arribalzagia and Christya ‘groups’ were reduced to ‘series’. Except for a few minor changes made at or below the ‘group’ level (Reid, 1968; Harrison, 1972; Vu et al., 1991; changes noted by Harbach, 2004), and the removal of An. kyondawensis to subgenus Baimaia (Harbach et al., 2005) and An. implexus and An. okuensis to subgenus Christya (Harbach & Kitching, 2015), the internal classification of subgenus Anopheles has changed relatively  little since it was introduced by Reid & Knight (1961).

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith